Veterinary Technician Specialties

The NAVTA Committee on Veterinary Technician Specialties

The Committee on Veterinary Technician Specialties exists to help veterinary technicians attain a higher level of recognition for advanced knowledge and skills in specific disciplines.

Individual Certification

Individuals who achieve certification from a NAVTA-approved academy will have the ability to use the Veterinary Technician Specialist (VTS) or Veterinary Nurse Specialist (VNS) logo (shown below) with the addition of the text delineating their specialty area of certification. Please contact your certified CVTS academy for your official logo.

Create a New Specialty Academy

The Committee on Veterinary Technicians Specialties provides a standardized list of criteria and assistance for societies interested in attaining Academy status.

The CVTS provides the guidelines for veterinary technician organizations to facilitate the formation of a specialty organization. Academies are then able to develop advanced pathways in which a candidate must follow and complete in order to be awarded the designation of VTS (Veterinary Technician Specialist) in their specific discipline.

Only academies approved by the Committee on Veterinary Technicians Specialties are eligible to use the CVTS Recognized symbol. The NAVTA CVTS is recognized by the American Veterinary Medical Association.

Interested in learning the requirements to create a new specialty academy?

Need to Submit Your Annual Report (Academy Requirements)?